top of page

Anxiety is not the Answer

Do you ever feel like you're just stuck and have no idea what to do next? Do you ever wonder what kind of career, spouse, family, or home you will have in the future? I don't know about you, but for me, I worry about these things every day. As my college career is coming to an end, I have no idea what I want to do, better yet, what God wants me to do. I feel like I'm doing everything I can to do to seek God's will from praying, meditating on His word, fasting, etc. Yet, I'm not seeking any answers, and this gives me anxiety.

But then, I've come to realize, it's okay to not have all the answers right now.

"Trust in the Lord, and do good;

dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness.

Delight yourself in the Lord,

and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your ways to the Lord;

trust in Him, and He will act.

He will bring forth your righteousness as the light,

and justice as the noonday.

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him;

fret not yourself over the one who prospers in his way,

over the man who carries out evil devices!"

Psalm 37: 3-7 ESV

You see the keywords in these verses? Trust, do good, delight, commit, be still, wait patiently, fret not, and there may be others I'm overlooking. But my point is, these are action verbs that we must apply to our life while we are in the season of waiting.

Before we were born, God has always had a plan for us. But as we're waiting for a specific thing we want in life, we must be in the presence of the Lord and build our relationship closer to Him. We must let Him be in control.

To be honest, I'm scared that I'm not going to have a job right after college, but as in Philippians 4:6-7, "do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus." We must confess to God about our doubts and worries and know that He is our peacemaker.

Do not stop seeking the Lord if you're not getting the answers you're wanting. His plans are far greater than ours. Living a lifestyle for Christ is not easy at all, just as not having motivation for school or a career. But you must keep going, my friend. Discipline yourself knowing that we can not do life on our own. We need Christ! I promise you, when you seek the Lord for answers and learn more about Him, you'll need nothing else.

So if you're in a season of waiting, make the best use of time and build a much stronger and closer relationship with God. I always say this to myself that God doesn't want us to do life FOR Him. He wants us to do life WITH Him. He is always one step ahead of us!

Therefore, you should not have anxiety, but instead, have trust in Him.

"Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your paths." Proverbs 3:5-6

"When I am afraid, I put my trust in you." Psalm 56:3

"For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope." Jeremiah 29:12

bottom of page